Skip to main content

General Information

General Information for ESSA

On December 10, 2015, Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA), was signed into law. ESSA is a reauthorization of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965 (ESEA). ESSA replaces its predecessor, the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001 (NCLB).

ESSA offers LEAs greater flexibility for using federal funds to effectively implement comprehensive, districtwide research-based initiatives that maximize student academic outcomes, particularly for those students at risk of not meeting challenging state academic assessment standards.

ESSA renews the U.S. Department of Education’s emphasis on comprehensive needs assessments and improvement planning. The new regulations increase LEAs’ responsibilities for monitoring student outcomes, coordinated use of federal funds, and for offering high-quality guidance and technical assistance to schools engaged in continuous improvement planning.

The primary function of ESSA is to close the achievement gap between groups of students by requiring greater accountability and offering increased flexibility and choice. ESSA includes Title I-A, Title I-C, Title I-D, Title II, Title III-A, and Title IV. 

Region 18 Education Service Center provides professional development and technical assistance to districts and charter schools in maintaining federal program compliance with ESSA guidelines and implementation mandates as well as the effective use of federal resources to impact and ensure greater student achievement.

Office of Elementary & Secondary Education: ESSA Legislation Table of Contents

Recommended Use of ESSA Funds- TEA Strategic Priorities

TEA Federal Program Compliance Division