Skip to main content


STAAR logo


The State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) program, which was implemented in the spring of 2012, includes annual assessments for:

  • reading and mathematics, grades 3-8
  • science in grades 5 and 8
  • social studies in grade 8
  • end-of-course (EOC) assessments for English I, English II, Algebra I, Biology, and U.S. History


Who Is Tested?

All students enrolled in Texas public schools and open-enrollment charter schools in grades 3–8 and specific high school courses are required by both federal and state law to participate in STAAR.


What Is Reported?

What Other Information Is Available?